The eleventh edition of Filminute, the international one-minute film festival, is on until October 25th.

This year, more than 1800 films were screened before narrowing down the showcase list to the final 25. The 17 countries that are represented in the competition this year are: Canada, France (2), Germany (2), India, Iran (2), Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Romania, South Africa, Spain (5), Switzerland, UK, Ukraine, Uruguay, and USA (3).

“This year’s collection of shortlisted films are cinematic and deeply satisfying to watch,” says Filminute co-founder and head of jury John Ketchum, who is based in Bucharest. “The kind of deep emotions these films elicit and their resonance beyond the final frame is something that our selection committee looks for. It’s easy to imagine many of these films as engaging, longer-format works.”

The jury judging the submissions in the festival is made up of Taiwanese master filmmaker Hou Hsiao-Hsien; award-winning filmmaker (and Filminute 2010 2X shortlisted director) Motke Dapp; author John Vaillant; and FIPRESCI film journalist and Vice President, Barbara Hollender. They are joined by writer, artist and Santa Maddalena Foundation advisory board member, Nayla Elamin, last year’s Best Filminute winner, Guillaume Renusson, and Filminute co-founder, Sabaa Quao. The jury is headed up by Filminute Co-Founder and Executive Director, John Ketchum.

The Best Filminute prize and five Commendations will be awarded by the Filminute jury. The public at large can view, share, comment upon, and rate all 25 films. Everyone can also cast a single vote for the film they feel deserves the People’s Choice award. As well, Filminute partners CineCoup and Cineuropa will be offering their annual prizes.

Voting is open until October 25th. The winners will be announced on October 28th.

The one-minute films in the competition can be watched here.

Photo: Filminute Facebook page